Monday, September 24, 2012

Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize Nominees

Last week, the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize shortlist was announced. This is a lucrative prize, offering $25,000 to the winner. To this year's shortlisted nominees, it will mean that much more, as 4 of the 5 nominees are from independent presses. Here is the list:

Tim Bowling | The Tinsmith
Published by Brindle & Glass Publishing

Tamas Dobozy | Siege 13
Published by Thomas Allen Publishers

Rawi Hage | Carnival
Published by House of Anansi Press

Alix Ohlin | Inside
Published by House of Anansi Press

Linda Spalding | The Purchase
Published by McClelland & Stewart

(from Writers' Trust of Canada)

Alix Ohlin's Inside is longlisted for the Giller. Rawi Hage is a previous winner of the IMPAC Dublin Award for his novel De Niro's Game - interestingly, his previous two novels, De Niro's Game and Cockroach, were also shortlisted for the Writer's Trust Prize.

This year's jury consists of Esi Edugyan, Lynn Coady and Drew Hayden Taylor. The award will be announced on November 7th.

Read more about the shortlist at Quill & Quire.

No comments: